//
you're reading...
Community Development, Startups

My Startup Weekend Mission Trip

I have recently stopped working at TeachStreet and would like to announce what I will be doing next to you all. Maybe there are parallels between what I will be doing and what you are looking for, so please let me know if there is anything I can do to help you.

While I was working at TeachStreet I got to be the lead organizer for Seattle’s first Startup Weekend EDU event. The event was a big success bringing in people like Mitch Kapor, Vinod Khosla and Michael Arrington. Also, we had an amazing turnout with 15 teams demoing Sunday evening (here is a link to coverage of the event). From this experience, this was something I knew I had to be more involved with. I recently became a global facilitator for Startup Weekend which is a volunteer role that allows you to travel to SW events and actually facilitate the entire weekend while representing the Startup Weekend company. Usually facilitators do 2-3 events per year but I thought to myself, “why only do 2-3 per year? why not do as many as I can?” (the local organizing committees provide travel expenses). So… I came up with this crazy idea which I titled my “Startup Weekend Mission.” Some people go on religious mission trips where they embark on this journey of service, enlightenment and culture, but startups have been my religion for the past 5 years. I proposed the idea of facilitating Startup Weekend events every week in a different city around the world for 3 months straight.  The guys over at Startup Weekend loved the idea and now I am in the planning mode.

Here is a quick slide deck that covers my “Startup Weekend Mission.”

Like I said in the deck, I will be constantly diving into each startup community to do a few things:

1. Meet as many people as I can and build relationships. If you are looking for something in particular (i.e. skill set, work experience, similar ideas, etc.) let me know and I would love to help connect people.

2. Researching best practices in each community. If you are curious about certain ideas or hypotheses, let me know and I would love to help collect data.

3. Learning about cultures all around the world. If you had this opportunity of travel, what would you like to seek out? I would love to help answer any questions you have with my experience.

If you are interested in developing any partnerships/sponsorships for any part of this trip please feel free to contact me at joey.aquino7(at)gmail(dot)com. You will be able to have a presence at all Startup Weekend events I facilitate globally and will start to build a strong relationship with the Startup Weekend company as well.

Please follow this blog for more updates on my travels. Also, here is a video covering the last Startup Weekend event I helped facilitate in Vancouver

About Joey Aquino

@Joey_Aquino https://joeyaquino.wordpress.com/ http://www.linkedin.com/in/jdaquino

Discussion

12 thoughts on “My Startup Weekend Mission Trip

  1. Holy crap this will be intense! Have a blast dude. Pace yourself. I did three in a row and got burnt out – best advice I have for you is to eat well and sleep properly.

    Posted by Shane Reiser | December 14, 2011, 11:13 am
  2. This is awesome, congrats my friend!

    Posted by Andrew Dumont | December 14, 2011, 5:38 pm
  3. Wow, that’s awesome! Good luck and I’ll look for you in Austin.

    Posted by Evan Jacobs (@evanjacobs) | December 14, 2011, 5:49 pm
  4. 3 months of travelling, meeting new people, and helping to build startups… that’s awesome! Have a great trip man. I know you keep asking for thoughts on your past blogs and trust me, they’re on my list. I’m also in the midst of a change after finishing up my internship at GrowLab. Looking forward to blogging more and reading more about your travels.

    Posted by Toan Dang | December 14, 2011, 10:34 pm
  5. Phenomenal idea, you’ll have a blast. Keep us posted!

    Posted by Philip Weston Nash | December 15, 2011, 1:33 am
  6. This is awesome dude. I will echo what Shane said… it’s easy to get burned out, so eat and sleep well!

    Posted by Joey Pomerenke (@JoeyPomerenke) | December 15, 2011, 9:31 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

