//
you're reading...
Community Development, Startups

What > a year of Startup Weekend has done for my life

This is what I call empowerment and life changing. Approximately 9 months ago I had my first taste with this global movement called Startup Weekend. I was the lead organizer for Seattle’s first Startup Weekend EDU. One weekend with this amazing company has not only changed my life but it has accelerated my growth towards living the fulfilling life I have been seeking (especially from my last blog which was all about the chaotic times of what do you do right after college)

Here is a timeline of my experience w/ Startup Weekend until now:

July: Jennifer Cabala asked Dave Schappell, Joseph Sunga and I to organize Seattle’s first Startup Weekend EDU. I was elected to lead this project.

September: We hosted Startup Weekend EDU at the University of Washington and had 127 attendees which led to 15 teams formed. This is when I caught the bug.

November: I became an official Startup Weekend global facilitator and co-facilitated my first event with SW rock star Shane Reiser.

– I stopped work at TeachStreet.com and proposed the idea of doing my Startup Weekend Mission. Before I knew it, Marc said:

and he helped me get set up on this journey quickly.

January: I started my 3 month journey that turned into 4 and has led me to this experience:

1. I have helped over 1027 aspiring entrepreneurs learn more about themselves and starting a company.

2. I have logged 648 Startup Weekend hours working with entrepreneurs.

3. I have traveled 44,870 miles to different cities around the world.

4. Introduced 155 amazing mentors to aspiring entrepreneurs to help build out their network.

5. Slept on average 18 hrs per weekend.

6. And now… Startup Weekend has offered me a job!

My advice for any startup is to strive for this type of empowerment and succession with your tribe. If you can create a pipeline this empowering, you will be able to really create a world changing movement. Oh and the kicker, hundreds of people do the exact same thing I did for Startup Weekend all around the world and are completely on a volunteer basis. Empower your tribe to hold responsibility and to take action.

About Joey Aquino

@Joey_Aquino https://joeyaquino.wordpress.com/ http://www.linkedin.com/in/jdaquino

Discussion

9 thoughts on “What > a year of Startup Weekend has done for my life

  1. Your hard work, determination and passion are going to change this planet. Thank you, and congratulations. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Posted by Justin Wilcox | May 4, 2012, 1:54 am
  2. Joey – thats awesome. Your enthusiasm and passion are inspiring to myself and many others. You definitely had a positive impact on my experience with Start up weekend in Jacksonville.

    Posted by timlemaster | May 4, 2012, 1:12 pm
    • Thank you! I was extremely happy to see the great things brewing in the Jacksonville area and hope we can continue to push the scene forward out there. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help!

      Posted by Joey Aquino | May 4, 2012, 1:46 pm
  3. You freakin rock dude, the issue is that you’ll have to write a daily update as this is just the beginning of even more awesomeness 🙂

    Posted by Franck Nouyrigat | May 4, 2012, 9:22 pm
  4. Excellent that you’ll be working for SW.org officially, Joey! Hope you can make it down to Portland- we’d love to show you what we’re up to!

    Posted by Shashi Jain | May 4, 2012, 9:50 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 1 Year Anniversary. Thank You Startup Weekend for All You Have Done « Joey Aquino - September 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

